About Wills

The electorate of Wills is 46 square kilometers and includes the suburbs of Brunswick, Brunswick East, Brunswick West, Coburg, parts of Coburg North, Pascoe Vale South, Pascoe Vale, Oak Park, Hadfield, Glenroy and Fawkner.

It was named in honour of William John Wills, 1834–61. Wills was the surveyor and astronomer of an ultimately unsuccessful 1860 government expedition to cross Australia from Melbourne to the Gulf of Carpentaria.

Wills is a diverse electorate that is home to many communities. It has a large population of migrants from Italy and Greece, as well as a growing number of African, Middle Eastern and South Asian migrants choosing to call it home.

Wills by the numbers (as of the 2016 Census)

  • Wills has a population of 154,000
  • 34% were born overseas, and 38% speak a language other than English at home
  • The top 5 languages (other than English) spoken are Italian, Arabic, Greek, Urdu and Mandarin
  • 11.8% are employed in the Health and Social Services sector and 11.2% are employed in teaching and education
  • At the 2019 election, there were 110,658 residents enrolled to vote

State and Local Government

Wills is a federal electorate. If you are interested in contacting your elected representatives at the state and local government level, you can find those representatives here:

Moreland City Council

Moreland City Council is the only local government area (LGA) in the electorate of Wills. The Council is responsible for local planning permits, animal control, waste management, recreation, rates and some local health services.

There are 11 elected Councillors to the City of Moreland across three wards, North-East, North-West and South. There are 4 Councillors in the North-East, 4 in North-West and 3 in South Ward. The 11 Councillors serve a 4 year term and elect a Mayor every 12 months.

Victorian State Government

Three Victorian state lower house electorates fall within the electorate of Wills: the electorates of Brunswick, Pascoe Vale and Broadmeadows.

Brunswick includes the suburbs of Brunswick, Brunswick East, Brunswick West and parts of Coburg, Fitzroy North, Parkville and Pascoe Vale South.

Dr Tim Read is the Member for Brunswick.

Pascoe Vale includes the suburbs of Coburg North, Hadfield, Oak Park, Pascoe Vale and parts of Coburg, Glenroy and Pascoe Vale South.

Lizzie Blandthorn MP is the Member for Pascoe Vale.

Broadmeadows includes the suburbs of Broadmeadows, Campbellfield, Coolaroo, Dallas, Fawkner, Jacana, Meadow Heights and parts of Glenroy, Roxburgh Park, Somerton and Westmeadows.

Frank McGuire is the Member for Broadmeadows.